The Allan and Nesta Ferguson Scholarship

​The Allan and Nesta Ferguson Scholarships are available to international students who have applied to study a full-time one year Master’s course in the School of International Development* at UEA.

Applicants must be a national of, or permanently domiciled, in one of the following countries*:

*This list is from the United Nations Human Development Index Report 2020.

Eligible Countries
Each scholarship will fund the student’s international tuition fees and provide them with a maintenance grant of £12,000 so that they can live in the UK and be able to cover the costs of living/ travel/ visa.

This scholarship will be awarded on the basis of financial need to applicants from any of the listed countries.

To be considered for this scholarship, you will need to apply by submitting an application form by the 2 June 2023.

Type of Course
Postgraduate Taught
Funding Type
Tuition Fees
Total Value

Total Value
Tuition=£17,952 + £12,045 grant

Number Available per Year

Years Available
International Fees
Self Funded
Demonstrate genuine financial need
International Development
International Development*

Country / Region
Academic Excellence
​​Must meet course requirements.

Applicant’s Nationality
Any Country of Domicile
Further Criteria
Applicants must be a national of, or permanently domiciled, in one of the countries listed in the ‘Eligible Countries’ tab at the top of the page

Restrictions with other scholarships
​​Cannot be in receipt of any other scholarships/awards.

Application Process
​​To be considered for this scholarship you will need to complete an application form. The deadline for applications is 2 June 2023.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *