The Government of Mauritius Africa Scholarships Scheme 2024 for study in Mauritius (Fully Funded)

Application Deadline: 26 April 2024

The Government of Mauritius offers to award scholarships to deserving students who are resident citizens of member states of the African Union or African Commonwealth countries, as per the following criteria:

1. For undergraduate programmes, applicants should be above 18 years of age and should not have reached their 26th birthday by 01 January 2025.
2. For MPhil/PhD programmes, applicants should not have reached 40 years by 01 January 2025.
3. Applicants must have already applied for a full-time on-campus programme (Diploma, Degree, MPhil or PhD) at a public Higher Education Institution in Mauritius (listed in Section 8 in the relevant Guidelines for Applicants) for the academic year starting in 2024.
4. The scholarship will be for a maximum duration as indicated in the table below or the minimum course duration whichever is lesser.

Degree Level

  • Diploma
  • Bachelor’s
  • Master’s
  • PhD

Program Studies

  • Undergraduate Diploma: Three (3) years
  • Undergraduate Degree: Four (4) Years
  • MPhil: Two (2) years
  • MPhil / PhD: Four (4) years + 6 months for the transfer from MPhil to PhD
  • PhD: Three (3) years


  • The Scholarship will support successful candidates in meeting their tuition fees and contributing to their living expenses during their studies in Mauritius.
  • Furthermore, the scholarship covers return airfare by the most economical route.
  • This will be valid for travel from the country of origin at the beginning of the studies and back to the country of origin upon successful completion of studies.


  • Intake: July to September 2024
  • Deadline for electronic submission: 19 April 2024
  • Hard copy should reach the Ministry latest: 26 April 2024

Application Procedure:

  • Applications and all supporting documents must be forwarded to the Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology of the Republic of Mauritius at the address mentioned below for the final selection.

    The Senior Chief Executive, Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education, Science and Technology (Attn: Tertiary Education and Scientific Research Division) Level 2,
    MITD House, Pont Fer, Phoenix 73544. Republic of Mauritius

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *